Procedures for the General Public
The procedure for filing a claim with the Commissioner of Claims is as follows
(refer to Chapter 53, Section 4-141, et seq. of the Connecticut General Statutes):
1.Claimant must file himself, or by an attorney.
2. Include the name and address of the claimant.
3. Provide a concise statement of the claim including the date, time, place and circumstances surrounding the claim, the state agency being filed against, and the amount of money requested. The claim must be filed in duplicate.
4. Statement should include sufficient allegations to show what the state did or failed to do which caused the damage or injury complained of.
5. A filing fee must be submitted with each claim. The check or money order should be made payable to the Treasurer, State of Connecticut, but mailed to the Office of the Claims Commissioner. Effective July 1, 1992, Public Act 92-6 requires that a filing fee of $25 be paid on each claim for $5000 or less, and $50 be paid on each claim in excess of $5,000.
6. Claims in amounts of less than $5000 must be sworn and notarized and supported by bills, estimates, etc, for exparte hearings.
7.Claims must be filed within one year of the date of incident.
8. If the claim is for property damage or personal injury, the claimant should look to his/her insurance carrier for reimbursement. In the event of a deductible, a claimant may file with the Commissioner for the amount of the deductible. An affidavit concerning the existence and amount of coverage, the deductible, and the amount received or to be received from insurance, or the cover sheet of the applicable insurance policy should accompany the claim.
*Claimants should refer to Section 4-142 of the Connecticut General Statutes to insure that statutory notice limitations and statute of limitations are met for "excepted" claims or defective conditions, Section 4-146.
Office of the Claims Commissioner
450 Columbus Boulevard
North Tower, Suite 203
Hartford, CT 06103